Following the success of previous years, broadband development projects from all over Europe were invited to apply for the European Broadband Awards. The winners will be honoured on the 19 November at the award ceremony and presented on 20 November at the “Broadband Day: Mind the Broadband Gap Conference” in Brussels.  A jury of five broadband experts assessed the project applications and selected the following finalists:

The highest number of applications came from Denmark, Germany and Spain. The majority of projects applied in category 3, “Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas”. The winners of the European Broadband Awards 2018 (one per category) will be honoured in a special ceremony in the evening of 19 November in Brussels. The European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Mariya Gabriel will host the ceremony. Commissioner Hogan (Agriculture & Rural Development) will also hand out awards. The next day, the Broadband Day: Mind the Broadband Gap Conference takes place and offers a unique opportunity to share experience beyond your borders and network with the representatives of the projects highlighted as best practices in Europe. Participants are invited to take an active part in the forum of the main actors involved in regulation, financing and broadband deployment across Europe. The winners will also take part in a panel, sharing their experience as best practices in Europe.

All projects will be featured on DG CONNECT webpages, in newsletters and will be displayed in the good practice database of Broadband Europe.

atene KOM GmbH facilitates the awards, organises the process and supports the EU Commission as well as applicants in all stages.

title picture: European Broadband Awards 2018
Picture credit: atene KOM GmbH